Love Heals All

To my therapist,

My tummy is full and my mind is quiet. I feel content. I took advantage of the holiday sales and went clothes shopping. You see, I was holding onto all of my clothes that were too small for me. Four years ago I was an extra small, and then I became a small and now I am a medium. The clothes I wore three years ago no longer fit me. I probably bought 10 new tops. I even got some low cut not so conservative shirts so that I can wear them when I go on a date. They are definitely not shirts for work. Ever since that marriage ended and I threw out all of the skimpy and “sexy” clothes I have wanted to be totally conservative. As things began to not fit me I kept wearing them anyway. I’ve only been wearing tshirts on weekends or pajamas but now I have some elegant tops. See, on weekends and before I worked, all I did was stay in bed and sleep. But now that I am doing more things on the weekends I actually have a need for things that are not tshirts and work shirts. I just went through my closet and probably took out about 20 shirts that are far too small for me. I have to donate them but some I will keep to give to my younger cousin like how I gave her my really nice but too small winter jackets last week. I think this change will feel good. I often didn’t ever really know what to wear over the last two years but now I have choices from clothes that I picked out. I think it feels good. Even some of my old dresses are too small but I am not ready to say goodbye to those ones yet.
I feel more at peace. I’m so glad you agreed with me that going to the jacuzzi the night I got home from my trip was a brilliant idea rather than writing about and therefore focusing on trauma from the past.
It feels nice to be earning money and then to have money to spend to basically buy a new wardrobe, because being in clothes that flatter me and fit makes me feel good and is therfore good for my self esteem and confidence. I actually rather like being a size medium rather than a small. It means I have grown into my beautiful, curvy, womanly body and that is how a woman’s body is supposed to be. Women, people in general, are not supposed to be like sticks. I never ever want to go on a diet again. And no one will ever be able to force me or pressure me to go on a diet because I like me just the way I am. I could lose a few pounds but I don’t need to. I just need to focus on being healthy, my mental health being the most important. I am about 138 pounds and I have weighed that same weight for over a year straight without gaining or losing much. It is the first time in my entire life that my weight has remained constant. Since I was about 17. It would go up and then drastically down and because that whole time I was with my ex-husband and under his influence.
I like my life right now. I drink tea all day long, mostly at work. I have given myself permission to enjoy tea. I am motivated to do these classes early in the year and it will be a preview of what grad school will be like. I am going to become a professional person, and I am going to have a real career for the first time ever and be doing work that is going to be meaningful and that I enjoy. I can hardly believe it. My life is so much better than it used to be. It just keeps getting better and my life is more full, even though there are always challenges along the way. You have helped me so much and I’m so glad that you continue to support me. I want and need you in my life. Today talking with you was really helpful. I feel as if I can learn more when I am not being held hostage by intrusive memories of pain and fear and anger and trauma. Earlier this week was so scary for me because I was remembering painful memories. But then things got better. The feelings came and went and I remained.
I really love you and I’ve never asked you but I know that you love me too, and that last little bit is everything to me. It’s how I have healed so much. Because of love.
Leave a Reply

